The Department of Geology in Delhi University was launched in 1966 at the inaugural of Dr. C.D. Deshmukh, the then Vice Chancellor of Delhi University. Dr. A.G. Jhingran, after retreat as Director General, Geological Survey of India, was afforded the charge of founding this Department. The Department of Geology in the Faculty of Science has a approved intensity of 17 faculty members with altered specialization. The Department is averagely well furnished; all major equipments are available for research and teaching purposes. The Department began with 3 years B.Sc. (Hons.) course and 3 years Applied Geology course.

B.Sc. Geology
M.Sc Geology
Ph D
M.Phil. in Geology

Faculty members of Department of Geology
Prof. Talat Ahmad                        Prof. Vishwa Nath Bajpai
Prof. Anand Bhola                        Dr. Partha Pratim Chakraborty
Dr. Anupam Chattopadhyay            Prof. Mihir Deb
Prof. Chandra Shekhar Dube          Dr. Vikrant Jain
Dr. Ashima Saikia                        Prof. Vijayanand Sharma
Dr. Shashank Shekhar                        Prof. Jaya Prakash Shrivastava
Dr. Vimal Singh                        Dr. Somendra Kumar Singh
Dr. Ashutosh Singh                        Prof. Devesh K Sinha
Dr. Pankaj Srivastava                        Prof. Sampat Kumar Tandon

Professional Societies Memberships
Fellow of Geological Society of India, Bangalore
Member of Mining and Metallurgical Society of India
Member of Indian Journal of Earth Sciences, Calcutta
Member of International Association Structural/Tectonic Geologists, England

Prof. V.N. Bajpai,
Dept. of Geology,
University of Delhi,
Phone: 27667725 x 1444 (EPABX), 27667073 (HOD).
Website –